Renaissance High School English Department


The mission of Renaissance High School’s English Department is to prepare students for college and the world of work through a curriculum that is designed to emphasize writing, reading, and public speaking.  The reading program introduces students to African American, American, British and World Literature.  The writing program includes basic grammar and composition, with special emphasis on expository and persuasive writing in preparation for the ACT, SAT and Advanced Placement tests.  Electives provide students an opportunity to expand skills in public speaking, journalism, creative expression and research writing. 

 

Courses:
English 9 and English 10 Grade: General Survey of Multicultural Literature
English 11: American Literature or Advanced Placement English Language and Composition
English 12: British and World Literature or Advanced Placement English Literature and Composition

 

Electives:
Creative Writing
Debate
Drama
Journalism
Newspaper

Research Writing
Speech
Yearbook


 

Department Directory
Stephanie Carone: Stephanie.Carone@detriotk12.org
Pamela Daniels-Nichols: Pamela.daniels-nichols@detroitk12.org
Kimberly Frederick: Kimberly.Frederick@detroitk12.org
Linda Hyde: Linda.hyde@detroitk12.org
Pamela Norris: Pamela.norris@detroitk12.org
Cedric Small: cedric.small@detroitk12.org
Curtis Towns: Curtis.towns@detroitk12.org
Carianne Wargowsky: carianne.wargowsky@detroitk12.org
Karen Wilkinson: Karen.wilkinson@detroitk12.org
Christal Wilson: Christal.wilson@detroitk12.org

 

Links:
www.freephigh.com

www.phoenixrisingdetroit.com

10 Grader Textbook is online!
(Students must create a username and password and obtain a code in order to access the book.)
www.classzone.com

 

AP Central:
http://www.collegeboard.com/student/index.html?student
ACT Help: www.actstudent.org


Grade Level Readings
9th Grade
Fahrenheit 451-Bradbury
Of Mice and Men- John Steinbeck
To Kill a Mockingbird-Harper Lee
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings- Maya Angelou
Romeo and Juliet- William Shakespeare
Animal Farm- Orwell
Picture Bride-Uchida           
The Underdogs-Azuela
The Friends-Guy
The Things They Carried- Tim O’Brien
Angela’s Ashes- Frank McCourt

 

10th
A Raisin in the Sun –Lorraine Hansberry
Black Boy – Richard Wright
Julius Caesar
Go Tell It on the Mountain
Antigone
The Pearl
The Glass Menagerie
Lord of the Flies
When Rain Clouds Gather –Bessie Head
The Joy Luck Club
Home – Toni Morrison

 

11th Grade
The Crucible-Arthur Miller
The Scarlet Letter-Nathaniel Hawthorne
The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald
Huckleberry Finn- Mark Twain
Jubilee –Margaret Walker
Native Son-Richard Wright
Grapes of Wrath- John Steinbeck
Sula- Toni Morrison
Death of a Salesman- Arthur Miller
Their Eyes Were Watching God- Zora Neale Hurston
Souls of Black Folk- W.E.B. Dubois
Passing-Nella Larsen
A Mercy- Toni Morrison
AP-Ella Minnow Pea – Mark Dunn
AP Fast Food Nation-Eric Schlosser

 

12th Grade
Macbeth
Brave New World